top of page

Review of TEN YEARS (An Autumn Birth)

An Autumn Birth ... From a Burial Effect

Posted by ProgPaul17 on April 27, 2015 at 8:00 PM

TEN YEARS

The culture of music can change like the seasons. Going from one extreme to the other, with the blink of an eye. But, some bands choose to change everything while changing nothing and staying true to their own ideals.


It was in 2005 that I heard 10 Years for the first time. The one decent (and no longer on air) radio station in the area had the single Wasteland in heavy rotation. Every time I was on the road, and could pick up the station, I heard it. I studied it. I learned what the song was about. I loved it! That took about three days.


Music video by 10 Years performing Wasteland.

(C) 2006 Universal Records, a Division of UMG Recordings, Inc.
















When I finally picked up a copy of The Autumn Effect, I was blown away! Solid writing from front to back. Musicality perfectly in tune with brilliant lyrical writing. Each word played off the other, as did the rhythmic and harmonic balance of the music itself.


Instantly, I knew I would be a fan for as long as they would let me.


The next two releases felt...different. Their distinctive sound was there, but the artistry felt like it was held back. Don't get me wrong, both Division and Feeding the Wolves are great albums. Each with their own feel and replayable tracks. But at the same time, it felt like both albums were meant for rock radio success. And a big part of me says that they felt the same.


Enter Minus the Machine ...


The first single from said album, Backlash, gave me the feeling that they were getting back to their progressive roots. I was not wrong. Every track from the album gave you the feeling that they had made an artistic effort. From Forever Fields, to Dancing with the Dead, to my favorite, Knives, I just knew.


What I knew, was that the next effort would top Minus the Machine. The momentum was clearly swinging in their direction. Their writing had become deeper. Jesse Hacek, who fronts the band, has a way with words. His lyrics tend to feed off of the preceding word. He is a master of playing off of words. But the best part is, the music followed suit.


From Birth to Burial was their next contribution to the world of music and art. The single Miscellania gave me an excellent preview of what to expect from the new album.


Music video by 10 Years performing Miscellanea. (C) 2015 Palehorse















I can honestly say that I've listened to the album over 50 times since its release on April 21. At first; I heard a concept album. Then, I realized that this was a statement album. The opening song, which happens to be the title track, may be the most perfect lead-in to an album ever. It's a deafening crescendo from subtle guitars and vocals, to raging, yet brilliant, drums and rhythm. They experiment with songs like Vertigo and Luna, and punch it down our collective throats with Triggers and Tripwires. But in my opinion, the most brilliant part of the album is the segue from Miscellania to Moisture Residue. The ivory of a piano bridging the gap between heavy and poetic.

If you haven't heard this album yet, you are in for an extremely pleasant auditory journey.

Two very big thumbs up!

~ Paul Almond

LINKS for the Band:

Follow SROMagInc on Twitter: @SroMaginc and "Like" us on Facebook

SPONSORS:

  • http://www.kickasscables.com

  • http://www.phdradio.com

  • http://www.robertsguitar.com

  • http://www.tdlmusicgroup.com

[ Sponsors: KickAss Cables | PhD Radio | Roberts Guitar | TDL Music Group ]


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page