top of page

Review of 'I Believe In Love' by Tommy Gunn

Tommy Gunn Album Review | Written By: Evie Star



Strange, the title of track #2 on this album, is fitting of my feelings in regards to this album. The first half of the album sounds more like song samples or recorded ideas for yet to be created songs. There is a nice track with just a saxophone somewhere right in the midst. The rest sounds, to me, like a few guys jamming out at a backyard cookout or crawfish boil, etc. in the middle of nowhere. These songs on the album have a very southern rock & country type of feel to them.


However, the 2 voices on this album do not mesh well and is very unappealing to the ears. I feel they would sound much better in maybe a duet style form. The vocals are not on pitch and the mix is at best muddy. The lyrics are so simplistic that they’re practically non-existent. There’s just no content to them, no heart.


I have no doubt that there is musical talent there somewhere.


But, this album needed a lot more work before ever considering release, in my opinion. I write these words out of kindness, not cruelty.


Maybe with the help of a great producer, a lyricist, composer this album could have potential. However, in its current form, it quite frankly, gave me a headache. My ears are highly skilled at tone, pitch, quality and all that entails. When I hear this sort of sound dissonance I can’t help but feel almost angry. It practically leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. It’s definitely not an album I’ll be listening to again.


As always, there will be those that disagree & that find these words upsetting. I was told to be honest and that is what I am doing. I won’t apologize for that.


I only want my words to help and hopefully better the artist I am reviewing. I usually shy away from doing reviews such as this for fear that I’m going to hurt someone’s feelings or piss someone off. I wasn’t given that option this time. For that I am glad. However, I can’t help but feel guilt for everything I’ve written. It is the truth as I know it to be, though.


So, please feel free to check out the album and see if you agree or disagree. (Click on the link provided to listen for yourselves.) As always, good vibes and thank you for reading.


Evie Star


Link:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page